Minnesota Motorists Still Being Caught Driving Over 100 MPH
St Paul (KROC AM News) - Earlier this year, Minnesota public safety officials expressed concern over the high number of motorists caught driving over 100 mph.
And triple-digit speeders are still getting caught.
The surge began during the early weeks of the pandemic when there were fewer vehicles on the road. But, triple-digit speeding tickets are still being written during the time of year when driving conditions traditionally worsen because of snow and ice.
The Minnesota State Patrol Monday morning reported:
During the early weeks of the pandemic, the State Patrol reported its troopers “pulled over 232 drivers traveling more than 100 mph April 1-May 21. That’s compared to 93 drivers during the same time period last year — a 149% increase.”
According to a Minnesota law firm, motorists caught driving over 100 mph face more than hefty fines.
This is from the website of Sieben-Edmunds-Miller:
In addition to the fine associated with the ticket, conviction of driving in excess of 100 miles per hour carries a civil penalty of at least a six-month driver’s license revocation. The revocation could be even longer than six months if the 100+ mph ticket was issued in conjunction with another offense such as a DWI or fleeing a police officer. Also, you will likely be charged higher insurance premiums for several years.
Most speeding tickets, including 100+ mph tickets, are petty misdemeanors. This means that, while they are considered moving violations, they are not classified as crimes. However, it is possible for a speeding ticket to be enhanced from a petty misdemeanor to a misdemeanor crime in Minnesota. This could happen if the officer believed the violation was committed in a manner or under circumstances that did or could endanger persons or property. So, if the officer believed that speeding over 100 miles per hour placed you, others, or property in danger, that officer could write the ticket as a misdemeanor crime. Misdemeanors carry possible penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
News update: State Patrol says alcohol was involved in an early Monday morning wreck in Fillmore County.
CHECK THEM OUT: 100 years of Christmas toys, gifts and fads